Courage- Student Singalong Edition

My students and colleagues never cease to surprise and teach me. Today was one of those times, so I thought I would share a little bit about it. Up until about 2:30, today had been a fairly blah sort of day. Everyone seemed to be on edge and no one really seemed to be getting along with one another. Not that this was a big deal. Some days are like that, even in Australia. When 2:30 rolled around, that blah sort of day went out the door.

I guess I should give you a little preamble. We have been studying poetry. It is a unit I love, but can definitely be challenging for some kids. What I asked the kids to do over the last couple of days is to create a rap or song and be ready to share it in a small group. Any topic, any tune. As you can imagine, the kids kinda struggled with this. I was okay with that because I think that a lot of learning can come out of struggling through something like that. They then shared their songs in small groups in the class. Again, we were still in that blah sort of place. That was until I asked the kids if any of them wanted to share their song with the whole class. To my utter shock, one of the girls volunteered right off the bat. She sang her song about bacon entitled, “I’m So Greasy” to the tune of “I’m So Fancy”. It was awesome. A number of other students volunteered to get up in front of the class, on their own, completely voluntarily, to sing the songs that they had composed. They were great. Even our fabulous SEA Katie got into the act with a song recorded on Garage Band. (I am working on convincing her that we need to post it for the world to hear)

The students amazed me with their willingness to do something that, for many of them, was completely out of their comfort zone. They showed courage and investment in their learning. I am proud of them. Just wanted to share.

6 thoughts on “Courage- Student Singalong Edition

Leave a Reply

