Change For The Sake Of Change

i think that often in schools we deliberately make a decision not to just make chang s just for the sake of change. We don’t want to rock the boat and we know that the process of change can can be difficult, both for ourselves and the people around us. I do feel, however, there is something to be said for change for the sake of change. 

This school year I switched to fifth grade after years in grade seven. There was no reason for it other than the fact I felt like I needed a change. It turns out that the move has been a great thing for me. It shook me up a little bit and forced me to do things differently. It allowed me to challenge myself. 

We do this regularly in small ways in our classrooms. Today my students moved their desks around in the classroom. Was there any reason for this other than to give the students a change of scenery? Nope. Change for the sake of change. 

A teacher that I greatly admire had been teaching fifth grade for a long time. One thing I admired about her was that every year she chose one area of her program to look at and change. She had a good program that she was  happy with but she was constantly changing and trying to grow. I know that this is not exactly change for the sake of change but it was constant change and growth. 

In the immortal words of Chuck Salina (or whoever he borrowed the phrase from), “Better green and growing than ripe and rotten”. 

4 thoughts on “Change For The Sake Of Change

  1. Great post Mike. Change is good. I find a good deep breath and a little positive self talk always helps right before proceeding.

Leave a Reply

